#PodcastFest – Fiona Bolger reads Caitlín Maude (1941-1982), Géibheann (Captivity) (IRISH & ENG)

Caitlín Maude (1941-1982) – Irish poet, activist, teacher, actress and traditional singer. A volume of her collected poems was published posthumously by Coiscéim. Her poem ‘Géibheann’ (Captivity) has been translated by Doireann Ní Ghríofa.

Caitlín Maude (1941-1982) – Poeta irlandese, attivista, insegnante, attrice e cantante folk. Un suo volume di poesie è stato pubblicato postumo da Coiscéim. La sua poesia ‘Géibheann’ (Cattività) è stata tradotta da Doireann Ní Ghríofa.

Géibheann

Ainmhí mé

ainmhí allta
as na teochreasaa
bhfuil cliú agus cáilar mo scéimh

chroithfinn
crainnte na coille tráth
le mo gháir

ach anois
luím síos
agus breathnaím trí leath shúil
ar an gcrann aonraic sin thall

tagann na céadta
daoine

chuile láa dhéanfadh rud ar bith
dom
ach mé a ligean amach

Captivity

I am an animal

a wild animal
from the tropics
celebrated far and wide
for my beauty

once
I’d shake the forest trees
with my roar

but now
I lie down
and stare through one eye
at that solitary tree over there

people come in their hundreds
every day

who would do anything at all
for me
except release me.

Translated by Doireann Ní Ghríofa

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started